King Kendrick? Somebody got some explaining to do!


The "New King"? Kendrick Lamar

The “New King”? Kendrick Lamar

This week in Hip Hop started off with a bang. The “New King” of not just New York but Hip-Hop himself Kendrick Lamar laid down the gauntlet against all rappers not named Jay-Z, Nas, Andre 3000 & Eminem.

Let me start out by saying this. I think Kendrick Lamar is a better than average emcee in fact I think he’s dope, but King or legend 2 albums in with a few suspect guest verses on other artist songs?, i don’t know about that. That doesn’t bode well for the “Self Appointed” King.

Kendrick has positioned himself into Rarefied air. He’s one of the few people in Hip Hop to spark a furor in the game. As a person who loves Hip Hop and lyrics I love it when the rappers are placed in the awkward position of having to defend themselves, lyrically.

Kendrick’s verse on Big Sean’s “Control” song, Was nothing short of brilliant. Due to the fact he came completely out of character. He didn’t rhyme with such vigor and energy as he did on that song. The single most brilliant aspect of it all is. He actually named names and some of the people he went at was actually in the song with him. Can you imagine putting someone on your song out of respect and he turned around and started dissing you. I mean isn’t that why LL Cool J & Canibus starting beefing because he thought (not knowing for sure, cause Canibus never said his name) Canibus was trying to throw subliminal shots at him. Big Sean could have been a sucker and either changed his verse up to go at Kendrick before he released the song or have him removed completely, but he didn’t and this is the end result.

Only these guys were safe from Kendrick's wrath.

Only these guys were safe from Kendrick’s wrath.

I just hope Kendrick is ready for the onslaught that’s about to occur everybody and their mother will be recording dis records going at him. Even if he didn’t say their names but like he said this is Hip Hop and everyone who raps should be offended and react accordingly.

This is Kendrick’s verse on control:

Tell Flex to drop a bomb on this shit
So many bombs, ring the alarm like Vietnam on this shit
So many bombs, make Farrakhan think that Saddam in this bitch
One at a time, I line em up and bomb on they mom while she watching the kids
I’m in a destruction mode if the gold exists
I’m important like the Pope, I’m a Muslim on pork
I’m Makaveli’s offspring, I’m the king of New York
King of the Coast, one hand, I juggle them both

The juggernaut’s all in your jugular, you take me for jokes
Live in the basement, church pews and funeral faces
Cartier bracelets for my women friends, I’m in Vegas
Who the fuck y’all thought it’s supposed to be?
If Phil Jackson came back, still no coachin’ me
I’m uncoachable, I’m unsociable

Fuck y’all clubs, fuck y’all pictures, your Instagram can gobble these nuts
Gobble dick up til you hiccup, my big homie Kurupt
This the same flow that put the rap game on a crutch (Russ x6)
I’ve seen niggas transform like villain Decepticons
Mollies’ll prolly turn these niggas to fucking Lindsay Lohan
A bunch of rich ass white girls looking for parties

Playing with Barbies, wreck the Porsche before you give em the car key
Judgment to the monarchy, blessings to Paul McCartney
You called me a black Beatle, I’m either that or a Marley
(I don’t smoke crack motherfucker I sell it)
I’m dressed in all black, this is not for the fan of Elvis
I’m aimin’ straight for your pelvis, you can’t stomach me
You plan on stumpin’ me? Bitch I’ve been jumped before you put a gun on me
Bitch I put one on yours,
 I’m Sean Connery
James Bonding with none of you niggas,
 climbing 100 mil in front of me
And I’m gonna get it even if you’re in the way
And if you’re in it, better run for Pete’s sake
I heard the barbershops be in great debates all the time
Bout who’s the best MC? Kendrick, Jigga and Nas

Eminem, Andre 3000, the rest of y’all
New niggas just new niggas, don’t get involved
And I ain’t rockin no more designer shit
White T’s and Nike Cortez, this is red Corvettes anonymous
I’m usually homeboys with the same niggas I’m rhymin’ with
But this is hip-hop and them niggas should know what time it is

And that goes for Jermaine Cole, Big KRIT, Wale
Pusha T, Meek Millz, A$AP Rocky, Drake
Big Sean, Jay Electron’, Tyler, Mac Miller

I got love for you all but I’m tryna murder you niggas
Tryna make sure your core fans never heard of you niggas
They dont wanna hear not one more noun or verb from you niggas
What is competition? I’m tryna raise the bar high
Who tryna jump and get it? You’re better off tryna skydive
Out the exit window of 5 G5’s with 5 grand
With your granddad as the pilot he drunk as fuck tryna land
With the hand full of arthritis and popping prosthetic leg
Bumpin Pac in the cockpit so the shit that pops in his head
Is an option of violence, someone heard the stewardess said
That your parachute is a latex condom hooked to a dre
ad

Personally i didn’t think Kendrick Lamar said he was the King of New York. I felt as if it was just an overplayed metaphor of saying he was the next big thing. He said it himself in 2 bars that he’s Pac’s son Notorious B.I.G, Snoop, Dre or Ice Cube depending on you’s considered to be the king of the West Coast. See Below:

I’m Makaveli’s offspring, I’m the king of New York
King of the Coast, one hand, I juggle them both

THANK YOU KENDRICK YOU HAVE NOW WOKE UP A SLEEPING GIANTS. GUYS WILL GET BACK TO MAKING SONGS WITHOUT OVERUSED FEATURES AND LYRICAL CONTENT. ALSO NEW YORK CITY CAN NOW BE ITSELF AGAIN AND NOT HAVE TO BITE EVERYBODY ELSE’S SOUND ALL BECAUSE YOU SAID YOU WAS KING.

So far there has been a slew of responses to Kendrick’s claim. A few who stand out are Joell Ortiz, Papoose, Graf, Uncle Murda.

Kendrick’s claim of being the King of NY maybe quite valid. If this is based on

  • Radio spins- His songs are in heavy rotation here in NYC on all Hip Hop & R&B Stations (Hot 97 & Power 105)
  • Show Bookings-He’s been at the Roseland Ballroom, BB Kings, Randalls Island, South Street Seaport, is MSG Next?
  • Record Sales- Platinum which is tremendous now a days.
  • Media Support-He could do no wrong to them, he’s the media’s darling right now. When a man not from NY claims he’s the King of NY and NY Media has no problem with it. Then he could do no wrong in their eyes.
  • Word of Mouth- Kendrick’s fans are some of the most hardcore and loyal.
  • Album Reviews– have been overwhelmingly great.
Good Kid M.A.A.D City

Good Kid M.A.A.D City

Still having said all of that Kendrick Lamar is not the King of NY and he is not the King of Hip Hop either. What he is, is an extremely talented Emcee who is taking advantage of his time at the podium. Many have stood there before him and enjoyed the same type of respect/criticism Lil Wayne, Ja-Rule, 50-Cent, Kanye West and so forth and so on.

Don’t worry Kendrick i know exactly what you meant when you said you was the King of NY. You’re too smart to make such erronious comments about a city you’re not from and know very lil about. I will not hold that against you, i will not hate on you for your success, i will laugh at you for short comings it comes with the territory. You’re not the King but you’re a prospect for future Hip Hop Royalty just not now it’s too early.

As for you New York it’s time to get back to work, We can no longer allow people to come here and consistently kick down our buildings and be cool with it. It’s up to these DJ’s to get the NYC Emcees back in the game and bring that NY sound back, stop biting other cities sound. You can still play all of the other music but make room for the OG’s respect is most definitely due don’t you agree?

Hit us up let me know what’s your take on this whole situation. #TellMeHowiLookNow.

So what do you think?

